Seatbelt Enforcement Starts Today Throughout the Entire State of Minnesota
Many people will be hitting the road the next few months, and State Troopers and Local Police Officers want to make sure you are buckled up for safety!
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety launched the "Click it or Ticket" campaign starting today and running through June 4th. Over 300 extra law enforcement officers will be on patrol looking for violations. Besides risking your safety the fine for not wearing a seatbelt is $25, but could go up to $100 with Fees. All passengers in a vehicle are required to wear a seatbelt, including those in the back seat. For any passenger under the age of 14 in the vehicle not wearing a seat belt, the driver will be fined for each passenger.
If you still are adamant about not wearing your seatbelt here are some sobering statistics:
- From 2011-2015 -152 motorists lost their lives during the 100 deadliest days in Minnesota from Memorial Day through Labor Day.
- In 2016- preliminary statistics show 79 unbelted motorists died on Minnesota roads.
- In 2015- 87 % of the unbelted deaths occurred in Greater Minnesota (Outside the seven- county Metro Area)