With a trip to the Minnesota Class A State Hockey Tournament on the line, Duluth's Denfeld Hunters and Marshall Hilltoppers will hit the ice tonight at Amsoil Arena to do battle for the rights to represent Section 7A in St. Paul next week. WEBC 560 will be carrying the game on the air and streaming online at webc560.com.

The two Lake Superior Conference hockey programs have a very different history in recent years, and while their paths have been different, they converge tonight for a chance to make memories and history.

The Denfeld Hunters have endured a lengthy state tournament drought, with their last appearance in 1989. In that tournament run over 20 years ago, the Hunters earned a third place title after beating International Falls 8-4 in the third place round. The 2012 Hunters will look to seniors Levi Talarico and Alex Thompson to continue their offensive production tonight and hope for another great performance between the pipes following back to back shutouts from Zach Thompson with help from Wes Cook.

The Marshall Hilltoppers have had five appearances in the state tournament in the last 10 years, including one last year losing to Breck 7-0 in the first round of the Class A bracket. After opening with a 7-3 record and hitting a rough mid-season patch that included losses to Denfeld and 5A opponent Hermantown, the Hilltoppers have gone 7-1 through the end of the regular season and into the playoffs.

In the only regular season meeting this year between these two Lake Superior Conference rivals, the Hunters won 8-3 at Mars Lakeview in a game that included a 5-goal second period for Denfeld and a hat trick for Levi Talarico.

Tonight's game coverage will start at 7:15 from Amsoil Arena on the air at 560 AM and online at webc560.com with the puck drop at 7:30. Jon Garver and Matt Johnson will have play by play analysis and after the game, look for a game recap and photos from the match to decide the Section 7A representative at the state tournament next week.

Video Highlights from the Marshall-Denfeld on January 31, 2013