Shocking Ingredient in Peeps the Label Doesn’t Tell You!
Peeps, the squishy, playful, marshmallow candy have a strange connection to pigs: they contain a pork-derived gelatin!
That’s not a big deal for everyone… except those on vegan, vegetarian, or kosher diets.
Nutritional information is readily available on their website, but people shopping at the store wouldn’t know it from looking on the label.
That’s true of a number of foods in stores. These food ingredients are called “hidden” because the listing names—like “dietary fiber” and “dough conditioners”—aren’t very revealing at first glance.
The government requires labels with the 8 most common food allergens listed on the label (milk, soy, peanuts, etc.)
But there are catch-all phrases like “natural ingredients” that could mean anything. It could be derived from wheat, strawberries, corn… you just don’t know.
If you’re not sure, check the company websites or contact manufacturers.