Voting opened this week for the 2020 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, and the University of Minnesota Duluth has two nominees on the ballot looking for fan votes to help win this prestigious college hockey award.

This year's UMD nominees are junior defenseman Scott Perunovich and senior goalie Hunter Shepard. They join a roster of over 75 college hockey players that have been nominated by athletics departments around the country.

The first round of voting goes through March 9 at midnight, when the field will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists. A second round of voting will then be held to whittle the field down to three finalists in March. From there, a winner will be chosen and announced during the NCAA Men's Hockey Frozen Four inon April in Detroit, Michigan.

Perunovich and Shepard are two of only five players at Minnesota schools. Here is that list:

  • Hunter Shepard, Sr., G, UMD
  • Scott Perunovich, Jr., D, UMD
  • Dryden McKay, So., G, MSU Mankato
  • Marc Michaelis, Sr., LW/C, MSU Mankato
  • Jack Ahcan, Sr., D, St. Cloud State University

Fans can vote once per each 24 hour period for their favorite player. You can visit the Hobey Baker Award voting page by tapping the button below.

The Hobey Baker Award is the most coveted award in college hockey, given to the top NCAA men’s player each year. Recipients are chosen based on on and off ice team contributions and display of character, academic performance, and compliance with NCAA rules.

MIX 108 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Previous UMD winners include Jack Connolly in 2012, Junior Lessard in 2004, Chris Marinucci in 1994, Bill Watson in 1985, and Tom Kurvers in 1984.

More From MIX 108