Every year the Ice Breaker tournament opens up the college hockey season and next year it will be held at Amsoil Arena.

The 21st Annual Ice Breaker Tournament will  bring together four of the nation's top teams (all from a different conference). The Bulldogs (National Collegiate Hockey Conference) University of Minnesota (Big Ten), Michigan Tech University (Western Collegiate Hockey Association) and 2014 NCAA champion Union College (ECAC Hockey) will all face off.

The first round matchups  have Michigan Tech taking on Union at 4 pm with UMD and Minnesota facing off in the 7:30 p.m. nightcap. The third place and championship games will take place the following day at Amsoil.

This will be the third time the Bulldogs will participate and fourth time for the Golden Gophers. I'm very excited that the tournament will be taking place at Amsoil because that means I'll be able to go this time! Check out the announcement video below and let me know what you think about the 2017 Ice Breaker Tourney being held in Duluth in the comments.