The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources announced today that it has lifted fire restrictions for much of the state, excluding 18 counties where fire danger still remains.

The remaining counties impacted by the burning restrictions are in East Central and Southeast Minnesota, mainly south of the Twin Ports, including the following counties: Anoka, Benton, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Washington and Wright.

While the fire danger has come down for much of Minnesota after a wet day today and more to come this week, the DNR still advises caution be used by all, even if you are outside of the reduced restriction area.

Minnesota DNR

It is advised that campfires are kept in a contained area and are not allowed to grow larger than three feet in height. Fires of any sort should always be attended, and should be completely extinguished before leaving the fire. The DNR also reminds everyone that people responsible for the ignition of a fire are also responsible for the costs of firefighters and DNR officers to extinguish a fire that is out of control.