Fines For Texting While Driving Have Increased in Minnesota
As of Saturday, If you are caught texting and driving in the State of Minnesota you are going to get hit with a whopping fine.
The first offense for texting while driving is $50.00 which is not to terribly bad, but If you get caught on a second offense, the fine is now $275! On top of that If you factor in court fees it could round out to about $345.
Last year 3,200 distracted driver tickets were issued, up from 847 in 2010. We have all seen horror stories in the news of accidents caused by people texting or using their phones, not that this will totally eliminate these accidents all together, but hopefully it will make people think twice and realize that text message can wait!