The NFL has announced the finalists for the Most Valuable Player of the year. Could Justin Jefferson from the Minnesota Vikings actually win it?

No doubt about it, that "J Jettas" had an outstanding year for the Vikings. This 2022-2023 season he was first in the entire league with receptions, catching 128 balls being thrown his way. He was also first this year with receiving yards at 1,809 yards. He was tied for 11th with 8 touchdowns and averaged 14.1 yards a catch.

He was placed in sixth for most receiving yards in a season. Those above him on the list include Antonio Brown (5th), Jerry Rice (4th), Julio Jones (3rd), Cooper Kupp (2nd), and Calvin 'Megatron' Johnson with 1,964 yards back in 2012.

MIX 108 logo
Get our free mobile app

Let's not forget the catch of the year against Buffalo earlier this season:

Justin Jefferson should definitely get credit for how well the Vikes did this season. What makes it crazier, Jefferson is the only non-QB to be named a finalist. Here is who he's going up against:

Buffalo Bills v New England Patriots
Getty Images

Buffalo Bills QB - Josh Allen

Here are Allen's stats from this year: 4,283 passing yards (7th), 35 passing  touchdowns (tied for 2nd), 762 rushing yards, 7 rushing touchdowns, and 14 interceptions (30th).

AFC Divisional Playoffs - Cincinnati Bengals v Buffalo Bills
Getty Images

Cincinnati Bengals QB - Joe Burrow

Burrows's stats: 4,475 passing yards (5th), 35 passing touchdowns (tied for 2nd), 257 rushing yards, 5 rushing touchdowns, and 12 interceptions (tied for 26th).

NFC Divisional Playoffs - New York Giants v Philadelphia Eagles
Getty Images

Philadelphia Eagles QB - Jalen Hurts

Hurts's stats: 3,703 passing yards (10th), 22 passing touchdowns (14th), 760 rushing yards, 13 rushing touchdowns, and 6 interceptions (tied for 4th).

AFC Divisional Playoffs - Jacksonville Jaguars v Kansas City Chiefs
Getty Images

Kansas City Cheifs QB - Patrick Mahomes

Mahomes's stats: 5,250 passing yards (1st), 41 passing touchdowns (1st), 358 rushing yards, 4 rushing touchdowns, and 12 interceptions.

You could honestly make a case for each one. However, no receiver has ever won the season MVP award. Could this be the year? I find it hard to believe that the Vikings would have done as well this year without Jefferson.

The MVP voting is done by a panel of 50 sportswriters and will be announced before the Superbowl. Hopefully, they pick Jefferson, but we'll see what happens. If you're wondering who was the last non-QB to win this honor, it was former Vikings running back Adrian Peterson.

Top 5 Worst Minnesota Vikings Quarterbacks

Five Best Minnesota Vikings Quarterbacks

15 Professional Athletes From Minnesota

More From MIX 108