On Saturday, April 3, the Proctor-Hermantown Mirage girls hockey team won their first-ever Minnesota State High School League Section 7A State Championship by defeating Gentry Academy 3-2 in double-overtime. On Thursday both cities will celebrate an amazing, undefeated season!

The mayors and city councils of both Hermantown and Proctor have proclaimed Thursday, April 8, as Proctor-Hermantown Mirage State Champions Day.


While Proctor and Hermantown residents will certainly be celebrating, the rest of the Northland should also take the day to honor these amazing athletes.

“We are so proud of these student athletes and their coaches,” said Hermantown Mayor Wayne Boucher. “The courage, drive, and determination they exemplified this season is something we respect and value across our entire community.”


The Mirage were formed in 1997 and have since won multiple section titles, but this was their first state championship game and they rose to the challenge with tremendous heart and effort.

MIX 108 logo
Get our free mobile app

These are the girls who made up the 2020 - 2021 Proctor-Hermantown Mirage varsity roster:

  • Natalie Berg
  • Nya Sieger
  • Rylee Gilbertson
  • Hannah Graves
  • Michaela Phinney
  • Hannah Kauppinen
  • Ember Kehtel
  • Kaydee High
  • McKenzie Gunderson
  • Macy Sieger
  • Sophie Parendo
  • Aurora Opsahl
  • Hailey Winklesky
  • Reese Heitzman
  • Alyssa Watkins
  • Izy Fairchild
  • Ava Anick
  • Ella Anick
  • Kora Duncan
  • Anika Burke
  • Preslie Annala
  • Morgan LaValley
  • Baylie Peterson
  • Madisen Skorseth

The program works with girls at a young age with their Junior Mirage youth hockey program. The Junior Mirage draw players from a large area that includes the cities of Proctor and Hermantown, as well as Twig. Developing skills and bonds with one another early on puts the program in a great place for years to come.

You can click here to learn more about the Proctor-Hermantown Mirage program.

CHECK IT OUT: 100 sports records and the stories behind them

More From MIX 108